Associations / Societies

INTECOL - The International Association

                 for Ecology




Following the founding of the Association, specialist groups were established in various areas of ecology. These mostly operated by arranging independent meetings or through organising sessions at the International Congresses.







More detailed information about INTECOL you can read here:

INTECOL flyer.pdf
PDF-Dokument [1.2 MB]
Rusong Wang, John Lee, Eugene Turner, Eun-Shik Kim, Bernd Markert, Jos Verhoeven, Azim Mallik, Rebecka Scharitz in 2008 (left to right).

INTECOL meets every four years at an international congress of ecology hosted by a member national society. In addition we organize major International Wetlands Conferences and co-sponsor EcoSummits in years between congresses. We also work closely with groups such as the international Long-Term Ecological Research Network (ILTER) and the

Board membrs of INTECOL in 2013, London. One of the board members is Prof. Dr. Bernd Markert from EISN-Institute (front, second from left).

International Network of Next Generation Ecologists (INNGE). As more international research is being organized and conducted around the world, it becomes even more essential for INTECOL to help coordinative and communicate among our member societies and our individual members.



   Existing Officers:
   President: Shona Myers (National Office of Department of Conservation; New Zealand)
   Past President: Alan P. Covich (University of Georgia; United States of America)
   Vice President: Bojie Fu (Chinese Academy of Sciences; Peoples Republic of China)
   Secretary General: Eun-Shik Kim (Kookmin University; Korea)
   Treasurer: Azim U. Mallik (Lakehead University; Canada)
   Bulletin Editor: Sun-Kee Hong (Mokpo National University; Korea)
   Advisor to Working Groups: Jos A. Verhoeven (Utrecht University; The Netherlands)

   Executive Board Members:
   Alastair H. Fitter (University of York; United Kingdom)
   John Grace (University of Edinburgh; United Kingdom)
   Craig D. James (CSIRO; Australia)
   Peter Søgaard Jørgensen (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
   John A. Lee (University of Sheffield; United Kingdom)
   Manuel Maass (Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico; Mexico)
   Silvia De Marco (Mar del Plata National University, Argentina)
   Bernd Markert (Environmental Institute of Scientific Networks, Germany)
   Akira Miyawaki (Yokohama National University; Japan)
   Shin-ichi Nakano (Kyoto University; Japan)
   Rebecca R. Sharitz (University of Georgia; United States of America)
   R. Eugene Turner (Louisiana State University; United States of America)
   Rusong Wang (Chinese Academy of Sciences; Peoples Republic of China)
   Naupaka B. Zimmerman (University of Arizona, USA)






Biomonitoring of

       Atmospheric Pollution

Biomonitoring involves measurement of chemicals in biological matrices including human tissues. It has been shown to be an excellent approach to quantify the exposure to a wide range of chemicals.  Biomonitoring studies routinely revealed novel, and sometimes surprising, information about the accumulation of chemicals in living receptors.


BioMAP 7, Lisbon, Portugal
Group of BioMAP 6 in Cesme-Izmir, Turkey, Oct. 2012; organized by the University of Ankara.




Topics of the workshops i.a.

  • Human biomonitoring and health related studies
  • Biomonitoring in water systems
  • Monitoring air pollution using different monitors, air quality and biodiversity
  • Methodological aspects


BioMAP Board member


Prof. Dr. H.Th. (Bert) Wolterbeek, university of Delft, The Netherlands
Secretary General:

Dr. Simone Wünschmann, EISN-Institute, Germany


Prof. Dr. M. Carmo Freitas, ITN, Portugal
Prof. Dr. Bernd Markert, EISN-Institute, Germany
Dr. Stefano Loppi, University of Siena, Italy

Dr. Marta Almeida, Instituto Superior Tecnico, Portugal

Prof. Dr. Susanta Lahiri, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, India

COST - European Cooperation

           in Science and  



COST 859 in Ascona

In 2009 COST Action 859 “Phytotechnologies to promote sustainable land use and improve food safety” ended but a new project of COST Action FA 0905 started:

Mineral Improved Crop Production for Healthy Food and Feed. COST Action 0905 will enable significant progress in:

enhancing bioavailability in soils and plant uptake and translocation of minerals to edible food parts (fortified food), reducing amounts of toxic minerals in food crops (food chain safety) and thus leading to improve human health: Aims: COST FA 0905 is a network of co-ordinated national research projects.




COST FA 0905:

SETAC - The Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry


The Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) is a non-profit, worldwide professional society comprised of individuals and institutions engaged in:

  • the study, analysis, and solution of environmental problems
  • the management and regulation of natural resources
  • environmental education
  • research and development


SETAC's mission is to support the development of principles and practices for protection, enhancement and management of sustainable environmental quality and ecosystem integrity.

SETAC promotes the advancement and application of scientific research related to contaminants and other stressors in the environment, education in the environmental sciences, and the use of science in environmental policy and decision-making.

The Society provides a forum where scientists, managers, and other professionals exchange information and ideas for the development and use of multidisciplinary scientific principles and practices leading to sustainable environmental quality.

The founding principles of SETAC are:

  • Multidisciplinary approaches to solving environmental problems
  • Balance: Academia, Business, Government
  • Objectivity: Science-based

Environmental toxicology and chemistry embrace fields of study that include:

  • Analytical chemistry
  • Atmospheric sciences and engineering
  • Biology
  • Classical toxicology
  • Ecology
  • Economics
  • Environmental chemistry
  • Environmental assessment and management
  • Genetics
  • Product life cycle assessment
  • Microbiology
  • Organic chemistry
  • Physiology
  • Risk Assessment
  • Soil sciences and engineering
  • Water sciences and engineering


SETAC homepage:

Team members

Prof. Dr. Bernd Markert

Dr. SimoneWünschmann

Dr. Edita Baltrėnaitė, Lithuania

Prof. Dr. Eun-Shik Kim, South Korea

Prof. Dr. Silvia De Marco, Argentina

Prof. Dr. Marinus Otte, USA

Dr. Meie Wang, China

Dr. Benno Böer, Ethiopia